RIVER DEBEN ASSOCIATION

Minutes of the Annual General Meeting 6.30 pm Wednesday 18 November 2020 By Zoom

Sarah Zins opened the meeting as outgoing Chair and welcomed the attendees. She was delighted that over 60 people had signed up to attend the meeting.

- 1. Apologies for absence John Cole.
- Minutes of the AGM held on 1 May 2019: acceptance of the minutes as a true record of the meeting was proposed by Peter Clay and seconded by Jim Goldsworthy. The vote was carried unanimously.
- 3. Treasurer's Report for the year ended 31 December 2019: The Report was enclosed with the Spring 2020 Magazine and is on the website. The outgoing Chair thanked Jim Goldsworthy for his excellent work as Treasurer. Acceptance of the report for the year ended 31 December 2019 was proposed by Jane Haviland and seconded by Liz Hatton. The vote was carried unanimously.
- Examination of Accounts: The Chair thanked Nancy Clay for acting as Examiner for the 2019 Accounts and agreeing to be the Examiner for the 2020 Accounts. Her appointment was proposed by Moray MacPhail and seconded by Oliver Houchell. The vote was carried unanimously.
- 5. Outgoing Chair's Report: Sarah Zins (SZ)'s report was enclosed with the Spring edition of the Deben Magazine and is on the RDA website. SZ had set herself 9 goals in order to evaluate her Chairmanship. The first had been to find an excellent successor. She was delighted to welcome Joeske van Walsum (JvW) to the post and praised his energy and drive together with his evident love of the Deben.
- **6. Election of Chair:** SZ proposed the confirmation of Joeske van Walsum as Chair. The vote was carried unanimously. The incoming Chair thanked SZ for the

amazing job she had done and praised the varied skills and professionalism represented on the Committee. He intends to protect, promote and champion our beautiful river. Among his aims are to put more emphasis on nature, including its healing and therapeutic power. A higher profile will hopefully attract new members of all ages. The RDA will do more for its members; regular walks, talks and social events will be arranged when possible. The possibility of reinstating the ferry from Woodbridge is being investigated. The project Rivers for Mental Health is being developed.

7. Election of Officers and Members of the Committee:

Officers:

Honorary President - Robert Simper Vice-Chairs - Sarah Zins and Jane Haviland Treasurer - Kathryn Cooper Secretary - Caroline Matthews

The following committee members are standing for re-election:

Peter Clay

Richard Verrill

Co-opted members standing for re-election:

Pauline Bloomfield

Gary Doggett

Liz Hattan

Oliver Houchell

Matt Lis

Moray MacPhail.

It had been agreed that the elections would be taken taken en bloc. This was proposed by Nicholas Wood and seconded by Julia Jones. The vote was carried unanimously. The Chair thanked those members of the Committee who were standing down

_

Jane Alexander, Jim Goldsworthy, Michael Holland, Sam Jennings, Kate Laydon and Robin Whittle.

All the Committee Members briefly introduced themselves.

8. Any Other Business:

There were no questions raised. The Chair declared the formal part of the meeting closed. A filmed interview between Robert Simper, RDA Honorary President, and JvW was then shown. It is hoped to have a link to the film on the RDA website. The meeting concluded at 7.15pm.