## RIVER DEBEN ASSOCIATION Minutes of the Annual General Meeting 6.30pm Wednesday 27th April 2022 at Woodbridge Community Hall

Jane Haviland (Co-Chair) opened the meeting and welcomed, on behalf of the Committee all those attending. Jane noted that the meeting that this was the first "in person" AGM since April 2019 – and expressed how delightful it was to see everyone.

Secondly, Jane noted that that her Co-Chair, Sarah Zins, was sadly unable to attend the meeting. Jane expressed that this was a significant absence as Sarah was, as of the date of the AGM, resigning from the position of Co-Chair and from the RDA Committee. Jane noted that Sarah had been on the RDA Committee for just over 6 years and expressed gratitude for her resolute dedication to the River Deben and the RDA membership. Sarah's hard work, diligence, integrity and commitment were considered undoubtable and Jane invited the meeting to thank her enormously for everything she has done.

The RDA Committee had acknowledged her service to the RDA at the most recent committee meeting and gifted her a swift box and hand bound poem The River Deben from Sea To Source by Christina Reddington.

- 1. **Apologies for absence:** Sarah Zins, Pip Alder, David and Jean Dean, Stephen Fletcher, Juliet and Brian Johnson, Ruth Leach, Caroline Matthews, Anne Moore, Imogen O'Neill, Sarah Pasteur, John Smith, Martin Waller, Nicholas and Elizabeth Wood
- 2. **Minutes of the AGM held on 28<sup>th</sup> April 2021:** Acceptance of the minutes, which are on the RDA website, as a true record of the meeting was proposed by Georgina Lankaster and seconded by Lyn Gameson. The vote was carried by a large majority.
- 3. Matters arising: None.
- 4. **Treasurer's Report for the year ending December 2021:** The Treasurer's report was enclosed with the Spring 2022 magazine (Issue 64) and is on the RDA website. Jane Haviland thanked Moray MacPhail for his work as Treasurer (and noted his work as Membership Secretary). Acceptance of the report was proposed by Kate Laydon and seconded by Carolyn Gibbins. The vote was carried by a large majority.
- 5. **Examination of Accounts:** Jane Haviland thanked Kathryn Cooper for acting as examiner for the 2021 accounts. Her appointment as examiner for the 2022 accounts was proposed by Kate Laydon and seconded by Moray MacPhail. The vote was carried by a large majority.
- 6. Election of Officers and members of the Committee: Jane Haviland noted that there was an amendment to the Agenda which stated that no co-opted members of the committee standing for election. In fact, there are two – Colin Nicholson and Caroline Peeke. Their election was proposed by Julia Jones and seconded by Anna-Marie Sellon. The vote was carried by a large majority.

The election of officers was then taken en bloc

- Honorary President Robert Simper
- Co- Chairs Jane Haviland and Colin Nicholson
- Vice Chair Liz Hattan
- Treasurer Moray MacPhail
- Secretary Caroline Peeke

Their election was proposed by Caroline Huddy and seconded by Lyn Gameson. The vote was carried by a large majority.

Sarah Zins and Martin Waler have retired from the Committee. Having previously thanked Sarah, Jane Haviland thanked Martin for his hard work whilst on the Committee and was happy to report that Martin has offered to support the RDA covering publicity and press. No other committee members were due for reelection.

- 7. **Co-Chairs report:** This was included in the spring edition of 'The Deben' magazine. Jane Haviland thanked all who are involved in the production and distribution of the magazine. In particular Julia Jones (Editor), Bertie Wheene, Mark from Bettaprint and James Skellorn of Barker Gotelee.
- 8. Approval of draft revised Constitution: The need for revisions to the constitution was discussed at last year's AGM when it was agreed that a revised constitution would be presented at this year's AGM. The draft revised Constitution was on the RDA Website and details of the key changes were on the Agenda. However there is one further key change: the draft constitution states that subscriptions would be payable on April 1<sup>st</sup> each year; however they will be payable on the anniversary of joining, known as rolling renewals. The revised constitution was proposed by Julia Jones and seconded by Thomas Yeung. The vote was carried by a large majority (over 75%) subject to the following amendment: The annual subscription is payable on the anniversary of the member's joining.

This concluded the main business of the meeting.

The meeting was followed by an interesting and thought-provoking talk given by Andy Went from Essex and Suffolk Rivers Trust entitled the State of Our Rivers. Jane Haviland thanked Andy and, after an interesting Q&A session on Andy's talk, showed a short film entitled How Polluted is the Deben (as requested by Eamonn O'Nolan with permission of Tim Curtis, Malcolm Hodd).

The meeting closed at 20.05.